In a 300 hectares area, up to 52 foreign and 40 domestic flights arrived and departed daily from the airport in it’s pre-war days during 1938–1939. Tempelhof was one of the most iconic pre-World War II airports and was the centre of the Berlin Airlift of 1948-1949. The airport’s main building was once among the top 20 largest buildings on earth.
After closing all operations, Tempelhof opened as a city park in May 2010. Newly reformed, the area now counts with many public recreational activities such as a 6km bike path, a running track, skate park, a barbecuing area, a four-acre dog walking field, plus a huge space for picnics, yoga enthusiasts, and layabouts. The airport is also adapted to host large events and music festivals. Entrance is free and park hours are from 6 a.m. until sunset.