The cavern was first entered in 1887 by the local Maori Chief Tane Tinorau accompanied by the English cartographer FredMace. It took many repeated water visits to the cave to discover the land entrance used today by most of the people who come to see it.
The cave is on the Waitomo River and visitors usually approach it by boat rides. Some of the locals believe that the sapphire landscapes are spellbound. Those who are not afraid, explore the cave by abseiling, crawling, climbing and rafting. A real treat for adventurous cavemen!